Indian Financial System Code (IFSC) is one of the modern approaches to make banking system much flexible and transforming it in paperless mode. IFSC code helps to take banking facility from challans to internet banking, long queue to computer system and small queue. Integration of this simple unique code brings new boost in banking and financial sectors. IFSC means Indian Financial System Code is important when any transaction especially in case of online transaction and make transaction robust and error free. With the help of this code use can easily transfer maximum amount to another account across the world to pay your shopping bills and other expenses.

About IFSC Code

Indian Financial System Code (IFSC Code) is combination of 11alpha numeric characters in which first four digit represent to bank code fifth digit is zero reserved for future use and remaining digit refers to bank branch code. IFSC code allows individuals to do National electronic fund transfer (NEFT) and Real time gross settlement (RTGS) quite comfortably. IFSC system is valid and useful for domestic transactions across the country. Reserve bank of India (RBI) is liable of issuing of codes to mange transaction without any complications. As per RBI guideline bank used to print their ifsc code in their cheque book to easy the customers tasks.

IFSC code has made inter banking transaction system much easier and robust. In simple word it can be said that IFSC code refers to unique identity of bank branches and inter banking system. Because of IFSC code IMPS becomes quite easy and secure. User can use various payment modes including payment through app, online payment through internet banking, transfer through SMS and other transaction platform. Example of IFSC code is PUNB0629300.

To Know about IFSC Codes of Bank Listed Below

Axis Bank

Allahabad Bank

Bank of Baroda

Bank of India

Canara Bank

Citi Bank

Central Bank of India



Indian Bank

Karnataka Bank



Punjab National Bank

State Bank of India

Yes Bank

United Bank of India

Union Bank of India

Vijaya Bank

Abhyudaya Cooperative Bank

Ahmedabad Mercantile Co Operative Bank

Airtel Payments Bank

Akola Janata Commercial Co Operative Bank

State Bank of Travancore

Syndicate Bank

Tamilnad Mercantile Bank

UCO Bank

RBL Bank

Reserve Bank of India

South Indian Bank

Paytm Payment Bank

Standard Chartered Bank

State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur

City Union Bank

Corporation Bank

DCB Bank

Dena Bank

Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank

Karur Vysya Bank

Kerala Gramin Bank

Kotak Mahindra Bank

Almora Urban Cooperative Bank

Andhra Bank

Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank

Australia and New Zealand Banking Group

Indian Overseas Bank

Indusind Bank

Jammu and Kashmir Bank

Bandhan Bank

Bank of America

Bank of Baharain and Kuwait BSC

Lakshmi Vilas Bank

Nainital Bank

Oriental Bank of Commerce

Pragathi Krishna Gramin Bank

Prathama Bank

Punjab and Sind Bank

Bank of Maharashtra

Bank of Tokyo Mitsubishi

Barclays Bank

Bassein Catholic Cooperative Bank

Zila Sahakri Bank

Bank of Ceylon

Dhanalakshmi Bank

Federal Bank

Gurgaon Gramin Bank

Himachal Pradesh State Cooperative Bank


Catholic Syrian Bank

Deogiri Nagari Sahakari Bank Aurangabad

Deustche Bank

State Bank of Mysore

State Bank of Patiala

MICR (Magnetic Ink Character Recognition)

Magnetic Ink Character Recognition is latest technology and use to validate the integrity of paper based documents and original documents to boost the security feature of one to other transactions. In banking sector Magnetic Ink Character Recognition (MICR) code is used to recognize cheque identity easily. MICR codes are easy to read by human and on the other hand bar codes are hard to understand and read. MICR code is combination of 9 digits in which first 3 digits represents city of bank, next three digits represents to identity of bank and remaining 3 digits refers to branch of bank. Example of MICR code is 486024002.